Experiments in Contacting Companies for Coupons

I recently started contacting companies for coupons after I read several blog posts where people claimed to be able to get high value coupons by writing to companies and providing consumer feedback (i.e. telling companies how much they like their products, making product suggestions, and/or expressing product complaints). I started doing this because my newspaper hardly ever has good coupons. I usually get the P&G insert and an abbreviated version of RedPlum or SmartSource. By abbreviated, I mean a shitty version of the insert containing between $10-15 worth of savings, most of which coupons are for products that I would never use. And some weeks there is only one insert. I’ve even written to my local newspaper to complain, but they explained that different versions of the inserts go to different areas and they have no control over the inserts available in my area. So I was hoping that by contacting companies directly, I could get coupons for products that I actually use and love.

Image

As I started contacting companies, I looked online for sample letters and advice on what to write. There was a lot of conflicting opinions about what to write and which approach works the best. A lot of people said that you shouldn’t ask for coupons directly, but other people claimed that they hardly ever got coupons if they didn’t ask; some suggested that sending emails works best and others suggested snail mail. And there were a lot of different results posted for the same companies. I also found an old (2006) experiment posted online called the $39 experiment, where a man wrote to companies asking for coupons, samples and/or free stuff. His letters were very humorous and I enjoyed reading about his results. So after reading about other people’s experiences, I thought that I would post my own results on this blog.

I have been contacting companies by email and snail mail. In some of my letters I ask for coupons directly, in others I don’t. I have sent compliments, questions and complaints for products that I actually use and enjoy (unless I don’t enjoy them, then I let the company know about the issues I’ve had) on a daily basis. Over the next few months, I will be posting about my experiences. I will include select emails and letters I send to companies, as well as the replies I receive. Lets find out how well writing to companies in the hopes of scoring coupons actually works.

Image

Leave a Reply

